Heritage Council


The Heritage Council’s mission is to engage, educate and advocate to develop a wider understanding of the vital contribution that our heritage makes to our social, environmental and economic well-being.


The skills and the commitment of the members of the Board of the Heritage Council are an invaluable conduit of ideas and energy that enable the organisation to lead, respond and deliver effectively. The application of knowledge and experience of board members has brought a real return for a minimal investment over the years.

All expenses are paid in accordance with the guidelines and rules set down by the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform. 

Conor Newman - Chairman

Appointed 31 May 2008 - 31 May 2013
Re-appointed July 2013

Honorarium: None

The members of the board of the Heritage Council were appointed in July 2016:

Marie Bourke:
• Former Keeper, Head of Education / Member of the Management Team/Secretary of the Board, National Gallery of Ireland (1998 - 2015)
• Chair, (2006-09), Board Member (1999 - 2009), Irish Museums Association

Kieran Coughlan: 
• Chief Executive of the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission, Secretary General to the Oireachtas Service and Clerk of the Dáil (1990- 2013)
• Appointed to Ethics in Public Office Commission 1995

Miriam Fitzpatrick: 
• Urban designer
• Part-time lecturer in Architecture at WIT and in Urban Design at UCD
• Founding member of  English Heritage’s Urban Panel. 
• Currently pursing a PhD at UCD
• Committee member of DoCoMoMo and AIARG (All Ireland Architecture Research Group)

Mary Gallagher:
•Secretary to the Authority of the National Sports Campus Development Authority (NSCDA) and Company Secretary, NSCDA (Operations) Ltd. (April 2007 - October 2015)
•Head of Corporate Governance/Secretary to the Board, Enterprise Ireland (1998 - 2007)

 Jane Maxwell:
•Principal Curator, Manuscripts & Archives Research Library, Trinity College Library •Governors and Guardians of Marsh’s Library (Provost’s proxy)

 Fionnuala May:
•Acting County Architect Fingal County Council (2011 - date)
•Served as a member of the Heritage Councils Standing Committee on Architecture (2000-2010)

 Sinead McCartan:
•Interim Director of Collections and Interpretation for National Museums Northern Ireland
•Curator of Prehistoric Archaeology at the Ulster Museum, Belfast (1990-2008)

 Ivor Mc Elveen:
•Founder of historic building and conservation consultancy practice in Wexford •Chairman and joint chief executive of a large private restituted estate, LE Holdings, Czech Republic (1994 - 1998) and former adviser to the Czech Government

 Michael Parsons:
•Chairperson Laois Heritage Society
•Member of the Heritage Council since January 2012

 Muiris Ó Súilleabháin:
•Lecturer UCD School of Archaeology (1994 - date) Member, Scientific Committee, Carnac Alignment World Heritage Bid (2014 - date)
•Dean of Arts UCD (2014 -2015) Head of School of Archaeology UCD (2004 - 2008)

 Brian Walsh:
•Curator, County Museum, Dundalk (February 2005 - date)
•Member of review committee on the National Monuments Act (2009/2010)