Inland Waterways

Inland Waterways Content

Ireland’s inland waterways are important parts of our transport and industrial heritage. They hold aesthetic, recreational and spiritual values, as well as important habitats for many forms of wildlife.

Call for Candidacies for the 6th European Greenways Award (EGA)

European Greenways Association (EGWA) announces the call for candidacies for the 6th European Greenways Award (EGA), 2013, which is organized by the EGWA in cooperation with the Comunidade Intermunicipal da Regiao Dao-Lafoes and with the support of the DG of Enterprise and Industry of the European Commission.

The objective is to promote examples of best practices and to support their replication for other greenways all over Europe. The European Greenways Award will be granted only to greenways under the Lille Declaration, as well as to initiatives already in existence.

This biennial award will recognize examples of best practices in greenways under three categories:

A. Excellence awards

Under this category the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes will be awarded to three exemplary greenways that show the best integration of the various characteristics that define greenways, (art. 1) and which also demonstrate specific strengths which, in the opinion of the jury, make them exemplary.

B. Exemplary initiatives

A 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes will be awarded to the exemplary initiatives carried out in relation to greenways. This category is open to any activity related to greenways in its broadest sense:

C. Special award, (*)  Tourism product in greenways

A single award will be granted for a tourism product linked to greenways, aimed at either one or more of these trails. The objective is to promote the development and commercialization of high quality integrated tourism products related to greenways and to give visibility to these initiatives.

This special award is part of the activities included in the Greenways Product project, co-financed by DG Enterprise and Industry of the European Commission.

Deadline for Candidates : Monday, May 20th, 2013
 Regulations and application forms available at:

 Awards ceremony: 12th of September 2013, Viseu (Portugal)